Patriots Offer Contract to Zach Thomas???

I know that Bill Belichick and Scott Piloli are two of the smartest personnel evaluators in the NFL. Far be it for an armchair quarterback like me to question their moves, but I just don’t get the idea of signing Zach Thomas for many reasons.

First, all the pundits and fans have been talking about how we need to get younger on defense, especially in the linebacker corps where Bruschi, Vrabel, and Seau are getting up there in age. Zach Thomas not only is a ten year veteran at a physically demanding position, but he has suffered injuries that have kept in out of the lineup quite a bit over the past few years.

Second, and more troubling, is that he has had concussion problems and missed most of last year because of them. As we have learned over the course of the past few years, once you start having consecutive concussions, they are easier to get and the affects can be more long lasting, and even permanent.

Third, while Thomas has played in a 3-4 defense in the past, it has been a while, and he seems to be more adept as a middle linebacker in a 4-3.

For those reasons I really just don’t understand how the Patriots think Thomas is a good signing, unless Seau is leaving and they plan on using him in a limited role like they have Seau the past two years.

Don’t get me wrong. I love Zach Thomas and he has always been a player I greatly admired. He was an undersized linebacker coming out of college that many thought wouldn’t make it in the NFL and he not only made it but has had a sterling career with the Miami Dolphins. You can’t help but to root for and like a player with his nose for the ball and tenacity to make it in the NFL. But frankly, and again it’s obviously not by decision but his, I think he should retire. Concussions are a serious issue in the NFL and given last year, I just simply think he has seen his better days. I know it’s hard to give up a sport you love so much, but health wise and because I admire him so much I was hoping he would retire.

If he signs with the Patriots, of course I’ll be one of his biggest fans and hope he helps us get to another Super Bowl and win this time. And if he goes to another team I’ll wish him all the best. I hope everything works out for the best for him either way.

But I just don’t quite get why the Patriots signed him.

Now on another note that has been on my mind, I have read a lot of Patriots fans criticizing Seau this year for not being effective or always taking himself out of the game. Seau was never intended to be an every down linebacker but was forced into the role with Roosevelt Colvin’s injury earlier this year. I think Seau has done fine under the circumstances.

2 thoughts on “Patriots Offer Contract to Zach Thomas???

  1. Given what’s known today about concussions, in general, it’s in Zach Thomas’ best interests to retire from pro football.

    End of discussion.

Leave a Reply

